download.png

Hello everyone!  I hope you all had a great summer. I had several ideas for my first post in September but when I stumbled on this quote by George Bernard Shaw it really struck me and I thought it was perfect for this week’s post.

If  you read this quote and your immediate response is “Find yourself? Go look in the mirror!” Then do keep an open mind as you read on.  Most of us at some point in time question our lives and we feel that something is missing. We think we have to find ourselves. We go searching for meaning and purpose in life.  Usually society /family dictates to us from very early on what we should and shouldn’t do. We are never allowed to explore what it is we really want to do or be in life. We are told from the start what path we must follow and we comply. Only to realize later in life we are unfulfilled and unhappy. On the outside we it might seem that we have it all, and this is reflected in material riches. Inside, however,   we might be in utter turmoil.

Do we have to simply follow our bliss if we want to  create a life were really love. If this is the case, then why is it that so many of us still suffer? Perhaps it is because we have yet to discover what truly makes us happy. This is what I think it means when people go to find themselves. They are really trying to figure out how to express their innate talents which society has never allowed them to do. How can we create a life if we don’t know what we want? This is a big problem for many people. Not to contradict George but I believe we can only create our life when we know what it is we want. To figure out what we want, we have to “find ourselves” which really means figuring out what makes us happy. Only then can we begin to create a life we love.

I love what I do.  I have always known that I wanted to teach. I love talking (sometimes too much) and writing makes me happy.  As much as I enjoyed the carefree summer with my girls I am not sure I can do that all year around. I’m looking forward to getting back to campus and interacting with my students. I’m looking forward to meeting with my clients and I am really looking forward to getting back to finishing my many writing projects.

quotescover-PNG-922

How do you feel returning back to school or work? How you answer this question will be a big indicator as to what you should be doing with your life.  As always, feel free to drop me a line and let me know.

Dr. M

radhamaharaj.com

P.S

September seems like a new year, a new beginning and in keeping with that vibe I decided to make a couple of changes to my blog. The first is that from now on my blog posts will around 500 words, plus or minus. The second change is that I will now post every other week. Both these changes have come about because I know we are all inundated with information all day, every day so in an attempt to help this situation, I have decided to say what I need to say with few words  and less often (wish me luck!).  I like it when I get just a few nuggets of wisdom once or twice a month from the sites I subscribed to. I feel overwhelmed with daily and even weekly updates, because even if I wanted to read or listen to everything I just don’t have the time. So, I decided to put myself in my reader’s shoes and treat them the way I want to be treated.

The final change is that I will be answering specific questions. If you have a question that you would like my opinion you can email me at drm@thekidonomicsseries.com. If appropriate, some of these questions and answers will be posted on my blog starting in 2017, especially those questions that can benefit a lot of people.

Leave a Reply

